Mahmoud Yousif Ali Wahba Hashim

I graduated from Benha University 2005, as a physics major. Worked as a research assistant at the Egyptian Center for Theoretical Physics in 2008. My field of speciality was in QCD Cosmology. Have more than three published papers in the field of cosmological Dissipative models and QCD plasma hydrodynamics. In 2011, I earned my masters in theoretical physics from Cairo University and in February 2012 I won the best master thesis in Cairo University prize. I visited ICTP (the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics) twice, once for attending a summer school in cosmology 2010 and the other for attending spring school on super string theory and related topics 2011. On August 2011 I joined the postgraduate diploma in mathematical sciences at AIMS. Currently I am involved in research work with Dr. Navin Sivanandam as a part of the essay work on the topic of “Consistency Relations and Non-Gaussianities in single field slow roll Inflation”.

What inspired you to study science?

When I was a child, I was always thinking of things around me and what these things are made of or how it works. After studying physics, I realized that there are some kind of laws that govern these things and actually these phenomena are obeying higher government than I thought. Going deep in physics studying, I started to learn the very fundamental theories that describe the physic world. In cosmology all these fundamental theories come together and combine. So studying cosmology is the goal for whom seeking the fundamentalism like me.

That was it; my mind became more curious and was transformed from becoming a hardcore medical doctor in the future that everyone was going to talk about, to following a career in astrophysics and registered for an undergraduate programme that would enable me to do so later on in life. I have also been inspired along the way by the Dstv History channel documentaries on the universe.

Do you have a role model in science?

Yes, Richard Feynman.

A quote that inspires you?

It doesn’t matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn’t matter how smart you are or what your name is. If it doesn’t agree with the experiment, it’s wrong.”

Research interests

My current research interests are in the Early Universe Inflationary Cosmology.

Favourite reference papers:

  • Weinberg, Cosmology
  • Liddle and Lyth, Cosmological Inflation and Large-Scale Structure
  • Baumann, TASI Lectures on Inflation
  • Bassett et al., Infaltion Dynamics and Reheating
This entry was posted in General, Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

