Nadeem Oozeer

I was born in Mauritius where I did my studies at the University of Mauritius (UoM). I obtained a Bsc. (Hons.) in Physics. My master thesis focused on the deconvolution techniques for wide field imaging from the Mauritius Radio Telescope survey. Tuned to radio wavelength, I pursued a PhD, spending half of my time at the Raman Research Institute (RRI) in Bangalore and UoM, working on multi-wavelength analysis of extragalactic radio sources.

In the meantime, I have held several teaching positions in Physics, Mathematics and Computational Science at secondary levels as well as the University of Mauritius. From 2009 to 2011, I was a postdoc at the HartRAO under an SKA fellowship, before taking up my current position as Operation and Commissioning scientist for the SKA SA, in February 2011.

Apart from my scientific role at the SKA, I am involved in outreach and science awareness activities, and shares my knowledge and sense of wonder at various levels. When I get out of the office I enjoy outdoor activities such as hiking, fishing or playing football, as well as travelling to discover new horizons, cultures, people.

What inspired you to study science?

It is quite amazing to see how science allows one to understand almost if not everything around oneself and keeps the brain perpetually intringued.

Do you have a role model in science?

My teachers

A quote that inspires you?

Every hour of every day I’m learning more 
The more I learn, the less I know about before 
The less I know, the more I want to look around 
Digging deep for clues on higher ground… UB40

Research interests

  • Mutli-wavelength astrophysics
  • Galaxy Clusters
  • Active Galactic Nuclei
  • Virtual Observatories
  • Astronomy Outreach

This entry was posted in General, Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

