Bryony Martin

I was born and raised in South Africa. I obtained my BSc in Electrical Engineering at the University of Cape Town (UCT) and then went on to study a MPhil in Management at Cambridge University. After that I spent a couple of years working as a management consultant in London. In 2010 I returned to South Africa and to academia when I enrolled in the NASSP MSc in Astrophysics at UCT. I am currently conducting my masters research based between the UCT Astronomy department and the AIMS Cosmology research group.

What inspired you to study science, and astrophysics?

I always loved maths and science and been fascinated by the workings of the universe. However, until recently I was working in a very different field. I think what fed my interest and ultimately inspired me to get involved in research was reading all sorts of science literature about various topics from prime numbers to quantum theory.

Do you have a role model in science?

Not one person in particular, there are so many amazing stories about how people have contributed to science through the centuries, often against fierce odds. And then, in my personal experience I have had many wonderful teachers throughout school and university that brought science to life for me.

A quote that inspires you?

“If it’s not fun, you’re not doing it right.”
— Bob Basso

Research interests

  • Observational cosmology
  • Radio astronomy
This entry was posted in Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bryony Martin

  1. Pingback: Congratulations Bryony! | Cosmology at AIMS

Leave a Reply

