Michelle Knights

Born and bred South African, I grew up in Johannesburg. I did my undergraduate degree in Physics and Maths at Rhodes University, in the Eastern Cape. There, as well as studying, I was very involved in the Astronomy Society and was chairperson in 2009. In 2010, I moved to the University of Cape Town where I did my Honours with the National Astrophysics and Space Science Program (NASSP). Now, I have upgraded my Masters to PhD,  supervised by Bruce Bassett from the AIMS Cosmology Group.

What inspired you to study science, and astrophysics?

For as long as I can remember, I was always fascinated with the stars. My father used to tell me about constellations and some science about the stars. From then on, I was hooked by this idea of trying to understand our Universe. This passion for learning has driven me towards science at university. Every time I read an interesting paper or a new book or chat to a fellow scientist, I get inspired all over again.

Do you have a role model in science?

Jocelyn Bell Burnell, because she’s really quite famous for her discovery but she’s also very down to earth and humble, as well as very encouraging.

A quote that inspires you?

“What is now proved was once only imagined”
– William Blake

Research interests
Cosmology
Galaxies
Multiwavelength Research

Still being new to the field, I’m interested in just about everything. I think what drives me most is cosmology. It’s the one field where you can ask the biggest questions, like “how did everything start” and “how does the Universe evolve” which I think is very exciting. I’m also very interested in galaxies and their evolution and I find multiwavelength research fascinating, as it lets you get the whole picture of whatever you’re studying.

A list of all Michelle’s papers can be found here.

This entry was posted in Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Michelle Knights

  1. Pingback: FameLab Finals | Cosmology at AIMS

Leave a Reply

