Patrice Okouma

I was born in Moanda, an unforgettable small town in the south eastern part of Gabon. Initially, I studied Mathematics. First in Gabon for my undergraduate and then at Metz University (France) up to the Honours level in Applied Mathematics. My naive thought was : first get the “scientific alphabet” (i.e the mathematical skills up to date). Then I moved back to Gabon for my first dream job : Mathematics Teacher. I am presently on a long professional leave to further my understanding of astrophysics and cosmology at the University of Cape Town (UCT). Here at UCT, I obtained my Masters degree in astrophysics and space sciences in 2008 through the (South African) National Astrophysics and Space Science Programme (www.star.ac.za); and since then I have been working for a Ph.D in Applied Mathematics with a major in cosmology. I am a member of the AIMS (www.aims.ac.za) Cosmology and Astrophysics research group.

What inspired you to study science, and astrophysics?

Watching science based documentaries and fictions were quite a common hobby when growing up.
But as far as I can remember, my Dad as well as my first teachers in mathematics, physics and biology were quite
decisive in setting up the path right from the beginning. The school were I spent my two first years of High school too, was quite exceptional.

Do you have a role model in science?

I am not sure. I think I’ve been picking up from various individuals from diverse backgrounds.

A quote that inspires you?

The Poem, “Dreams”, by Langston Hughes tells quite a lot to me.

Research interests

Life
Theoretical and Observational Cosmology

A list of all Patrice’s papers can be found here.

 

Favourite reference papers:

First results from DAMA/LIBRA and the combined results with DAMA/NaI – R. Bernabei & al., ur.Phys.J.C56:333-355,2008 (arxiv:0804.2741)
Dynamics of dark energy – Edmund J. Copeland, M. Sami and Shinji Tsujikawa, Int.J.Mod.Phys.D15:1753-1936,2006 (arxiv:hep-th/0603057)

This entry was posted in Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patrice Okouma

  1. Pingback: Patrice wins ‘Best PhD Astronomy Presentation’ at the SKA Conference | Cosmology at AIMS

  2. Pingback: 2012: Publications | Cosmology at AIMS

Leave a Reply

