Yabebal Tadesse Fantaye

IMG_20131022_145734 YabeI am from Ethiopia, born and educated at the Capital city of Ethiopia, Addis Ababa. I did my undergraduate in the department of Physics at Addis Ababa University. I completed my Honours and Masters in the University of Cape Town in the National Astrophysics and Space Science Program (NASSP). I am currently a post-doc at the University of Rome Tor Vergata at the department of Mathematics, working mostly on CMB data analysis from the Planck satellite Planck consortium

What inspired you to study science, and astrophysics?

I can never forget my second year Physics undergraduate life. It was at that time I saw for first time the craters of Moon through telescope, with my own eyes! From then on I started studying the night sky and read all legends and myths associated to the constellations and bright objects. I have learnt that Cepheus, Cassiopeia and Andromeda are also know as Ethiopian King, Queen and Princess. This realization was more than enough inspiration I needed to pursue a career in investigating what lies up in the sky and above.

Do you have a role model in science?

All those great scientists whose names are common in any popular literature.

A quote that inspires you?

“It is not the years in your life that count, it is the life in your years”
— Abraham Lincoln

Research interests

My focus of research currently are:

  • test of cosmic isotropy
  • Weak lensing of the CMB
  • Dark Energy
  • Statistical methods for Cosmology e.g. Needlets on sphere and ball; Minkowski functionals

For more information on my work, visit my website

Favourite reference papers:

This entry was posted in Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

