Ravi K. Sheth

RaviI grew up in Bombay, India.
When I was 18, I left India to go to Haverford College, just outside Philadelphia, because one could (still can) play cricket there.  An astronomer there, Bruce Partridge, told me that if I wanted to keep playing cricket, then I should do a PhD in the UK.  So my PhD is from Cambridge University, where I was a Marshall Scholar.
After my PhD I went to Berkeley, MPA-Munich (where I met another astronomer, Mariangela Bernardi), and Fermilab-Chicago (where Mariangela and I got married), before getting a faculty position at Pitt, and then Penn (where our kids Ajay and Giulia were born).
We’re now at ICTP, Trieste.

What inspired you to study science?

The misconception that it provided a more secure career path than does the theater.

Do you have a role model in science?

Bruce Partridge, Donald Lynden-Bell.

A quote that inspires you?

“To think what no one has thought about that which everyone has seen”

Research interests

Combinatorics
Stochastic processes
Cosmology, Large-scale structure, galaxy formation

A list of all Ravi’s papers can be found here.

Favourite reference papers:

Bardeen, Bond, Kaiser, Szalay (1986), The statistics of peaks of Gaussian random fields

Ravi visited the group for a week in April 2011

This entry was posted in Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

