Dragan Huterer

DraganI was born in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina (then a part of Yugoslavia). I became interested in physics in high-school, and my dream soon became to study physics in the United States and become a physicist. I was accepted to study at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and left my home town just after the beginning of the civil war in Bosnia, in 1992. I left Sarajevo in a cargo plane on one of the last flights before the city was blockaded, and my parents left soon thereafter; we never went back. I got my Bachelor’s degree at MIT, and PhD at the University of Chicago, working with Michael Turner who around that time introduced the name dark energy for the component that is causing the acceleration of the universe. After two postdoctoral positions, I became an assistant professor of Physics at the University of Michigan in the beautiful city of Ann Arbor. My research group consists of about 10 students and postdocs, and we try to cover a broad range of topics in cosmology.

What inspired you to study science?

There was an article in a Yugoslav magazine called Galaksija (i.e. Galaxy; something like Scientific American) that was about cosmology. It mentioned inflation, and it also mentioned Alan Guth, the ‘guru of cosmology’ according to the article. I read it early in high-school, and the rest is history.

Do you have a role model in science?

Yes, Wayne Hu, a brilliant cosmologist working at the University of Chicago.

Research interests

Cosmology, in particular:

  • Dark energy
  • Large-scale structure
  • Cosmic microwave background anisotropies

A list of all Dragan’s papers can be found here.

Favourite reference papers:

I try to follow new papers on the arXiv every day, and I recommend this to my students as well.

Dragan visited the group in May 2011

This entry was posted in Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dragan Huterer

  1. Pingback: Falsifying Paradigms for Cosmic Acceleration – Seminar by Dragan Huterer | Cosmology at AIMS

Leave a Reply

