Miguel Zumalacárregui

I was born and grew up in Madrid (Spain), where I studied my bachelor and Master’s degree in Theoretical Physics at the Universidad Autonoma. At that time I became interested in Cosmology and moved to Barcelona to start my PhD, during which I spent an important amount of my time in research stays in Heidelberg (Germany), Oslo (Norway) and back to Madrid.

What inspired you to study science?

I have been interested in science for as long as I can remember: First dinosaurs (even before I learned to read), then engineering, medicine, math, and finally physics, thanks to some very good high school teachers and reading the excellent book “Endless Universe” by Cayetano Lopez, who turn out to be the lecturer in my first Quantum Physics course years after.

Do you have a role model in science?

Arkadi Levanyuk: He did take a great effort of teaching much more than mathematical physics, as he forced us to deal with difficult problems in a critical way and start thinking as scientists. Among people I did not meet, I would choose Georg Cantor and Charles Darwin, for their determination in developing revolutionary paradigms that were rejected by the orthodox views of most of their colleagues

A quote that inspires you?

“Young man, in mathematics you don’t understand things. You just get used to them”

John von Neumann

Research interests

Cosmology: Connecting theory and observations for dark energy, modified gravity and inhomogeneous models.

Gravitation: thermodynamical properties of the space-time

A list of all Miguel’s papers can be found here.

Favourite reference papers:

CosmoCoffee ArXiV filter

This entry was posted in Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

