Jose Fonseca

I’m from Guimarães, a beautiful city in the north of Portugal. I did my undergrad (Licenciatura) in
the University of Porto, Portugal in Physics and Applied Maths (Astronomy), with a one year
exchange in the University of Lund, Sweden. I did PART III in DAMTP, University of Cambridge,
as my pos-grad. I then moved down to the south of the UK to do my PhD. I’m currently finishing
PhD student in the Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation (ICG) of the University of Portsmouth.
During my PhD I had the great opportunity to do a research visit to Yukawa Institute of Theoretical
Physics, University of Kyoto for three months.

What inspired you to study science?

A bit of everything. I always liked nature and the wild, the physical reality and the intriguing sky. I always liked maths. I think since I was a kid I liked to understand how things work using maths.
I remember my teen times when I would stare at the sky, not wondering what each individual light dot was, but what was everything and how did it work. I don’t really know what inspired me.

I just know it pleases me. (And I was never satisfied with the god thing!)

Do you have a role model in science?

Socrates, da Vinci, Galileo, Newton, Marie Curie, Einstein (Maybe these are too many)
I think each one of them gives me independent models in the way I look at science. Socrates gives the process of discovering by asking the questions to break the know status.

da Vinci gives the creativity and the ability of being a visionaire, as well as the multiple interests he had with respect to the physical world.

Galileo is the courage to challenge the belifs for what was scientifical
evidence.

Newton for his capacity of understanding the real and mathematicysing it.

Marie Curie is the example that sciences may loose great people based on gender, race etc. She made it.

Einstein because of the beauty he was looking for in nature.

A quote that inspires you?

“Pensar incomoda como andar à chuva” / “Thinking bothers as walking in the rain” – Fernando Pessoa (I like to walk in the rain though!)
“Gods and heroes will seek asylum in art collections like political refugees in foreign
embassies” – Chris Marker

Research interests

I’m interested on linear and non-linear primordial perturbations from inflation or from alternative models, as well as their later evolution and effects.

A list of all Jose’s papers can be found here.

Favourite reference papers:

Arxiv (and wikipedia sometimes)

This entry was posted in General, Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

