Gopolang Mohlabeng

I did my Undergraduate degree in Physics at the University of Pretoria, then went on to do an Honours degree in Astrophysics at the University of Cape Town (NASSP). I am currently a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Kansas doing an MSc & PhD in Physics

What inspired you to study science, and astrophysics?

A movie called “Honey I blew up the baby” and a burning need to make a difference in the world, I realised I was good at science and this was the only way I knew how to make the difference I wanted to   make.

Do you have a role model in science?

Yes, a few, Albert Einstein, Professor Patricia Whitelock and Professor John Ralston.

A quote that inspires you?

“Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex… It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction.” -Albert Einstein

Research interests

My research interests are on detecting Dark Matter particles, from a Particle Physics point of View. Also I am interested in Cosmology, studies of Dark Energy. I am currently working on two research projects; 1. Exploring the universal density properties using supernova data and 2. Calculating the relic densities of Dark Matter Candidates in Universal Extra Dimension theories.

Favourite reference papers:

  • Inspire (HEP)
  • Arxiv
  • ApJ
This entry was posted in Group Members, Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

