Ermias Abebe Kassaye

I was born in Ethiopia, Addis Ababa. I obtained my first degree in physics from Dilla University, and my second degree, specializing in laser physics, from Addis Ababa University. After obtaining my second degree, I worked at  Arbaminch University for three years. I  then got the scholarship to attend the postgraduate diploma at Africa Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS). I am currently working on the  project on the Karoo Array Telescope (KAT-7) data reduction of potential calibrators which was also the focus of my research during my postgrad diploma at AIMS .

What inspired you to study science?

I was curious and interested in science, and I had the habit of constructing simple machines and asking some questions related to science when I was a teenager. My father inspired my attraction to science as he was always encouraging me to do my trials in an advanced way. Moreover, my teachers during school and university have played a significant part to study science.

Do you have a role model in science?

I do not have a single individual as my role model, but my instructors during my study at Universities (i.e. undergraduate to postgraduate) are my role models.

A quote that inspires you?

One cannot have wisdom without living life. (Dorothy McCall)

Research interests

Radio Astronomy and cosmology; quantum optics

Favourite reference papers:

-http:// www.Cv.nrao.edu/course/astr534

-Lecture notes by Feynman

This entry was posted in Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

