Moumita Aich

Mouimita-Aich_webI was born in Calcutta, India. I did my Bachelors in Physics from Presidency College and Masters from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. I had the opportunity to pursue a PhD in Cosmology with Prof. Tarun Souradeep at Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune. Currently I am a post-doctoral fellow at Astrophysics and Cosmology Research Unit, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban.

What inspired you to study science?

I wanted to become an astronaut when I was a child and was an ardent member of the astronomy club. During middle school, I became more interested in Cosmology after reading couple of article by Amalendu Banerjee, the then director of Birla Planetarium and Positional Astronomy Centre, Kolkata, and decided to pursue a career in it.

Do you have a role model in science?

There are many people who I have come across during my BSc, MSc who have inspired me to pursue a career in Physics. My PhD advisor has always been influential in keeping my zest for cosmology alive. There are many other colleagues and mentors whom I admire. And of course Richard Feynman, not only because of his contribution to science, but in showing us how to lead an interesting life.

A quote that inspires you?

Because it’s there’ by George Mallory when he was asked why he wanted to climb Mt. Everest. I believe that is the most profound three words summing up the great human desire for exploring and delving the vast unknown.

Research interests

CMB anisotropies, inflationary perturbation theory, parameter estimation, statistical anisotropy in CMB, weak lensing of CMB and very recently, radio interferometry.

Favourite reference papers:

Of course, the arxiv.

This entry was posted in General, Group Members, Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

