Lise du Buisson

LiseI grew up in Stellenbosch, where I did my undergraduate degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Stellenbosch. In 2013 I moved to the University of Cape Town, where I am now doing my MSc with the National Astrophysics and Space Science Programme (NASSP), supervised by Professor Bruce Bassett from AIMS.

What inspired you to study science?

It is difficult for me to identify the starting point of my inspiration… I have always loved mathematics and science, and studying it has always seemed like the obvious choice to me.

Do you have a role model in science?

Richard Feynman – a brilliant scientist who had an equally brilliant sense of humour, a lively and passionate spirit and a childlike fascination with the world around him.

A quote that inspires you?

“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

Research interests

I am interested in a lot of research topics, but for now I am focused on supernovas, supernova detection and machine learning techniques. I am also very interested in particle physics, and would like to give it a try in the future.

This entry was posted in Group Members. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

